

ABN: 46 211 642 339 PO Box 420, Cootamundra NSW 2590 Email: mail@cgrc.nsw.gov.au www.cgrc.nsw.gov.au

Minutes Extraordinary council MEETING

COUNCIL CHAMBERS, GUNDAGAI

5:00PM, TUESDAY 16th July, 2024

Administration Centres: 1300 459 689

MINUTES OF COOTAMUNDRA-GUNDAGAI REGIONAL COUNCIL EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL MEETING HELD AT THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, GUNDAGAI ON TUESDAY, 16 JULY 2024 AT 5:00PM

- PRESENT:Cr Gil Kelly (Acting Mayor), Cr Charlie Sheahan, Cr Leigh Bowden, Cr Logan
Collins (virtual), Cr Trevor Glover, Cr David Graham, Cr Abb McAlister, Cr Penny
Nicholson
- **IN ATTENDANCE:** Steve McGrath (Interim General Manager), Paul Woods (Interim Deputy General Manager CCD), Linda Wiles (Manager Business), Michael Mason (Interim Manager Sustainable Development)

1 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

The Chairperson acknowledged the Wiradjuri people who are the Traditional Custodians of the Land at which the meeting was held and paid his respects to Elders, both past and present, of the Wiradjuri Nation and extended that respect to other Aboriginal people who were present.

2 OPEN FORUM

Nil

- 3 APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE
- 3.1 APOLOGIES

Nil

3.2 LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Nil

4 DISCLOSURES OF INTEREST

Nil

5 GENERAL MANAGER'S REPORT

5.1 GENERAL MANAGER OFFICE

5.1.1 ELECTION OF THE MAYOR - FILLING OF CASUAL VACANCY - JULY 2024 TO SEPTEMBER 2024

The returning officer then assumed control of the election process as follows:

Mayor

The returning officer advised that one nomination for the position of Mayor had been received and declared Councillor Gil Kelly elected as Mayor for the period 16 July 2024 to 14 September 2024.

RESOLUTION 160/2024

Moved: Cr Abb McAlister Seconded: Cr David Graham

Council resolve to elect a Deputy Mayor.

CARRIED

Deputy Mayor

The returning officer advised that one nomination for the position of Deputy Mayor had been received and indicated that council could adjourn for a few minutes to allow time for other councillors to express interest, if desired given that a timeline for submission of Deputy Mayor nominations had not been provided.

At 5:05 pm, Cr Logan Collins attended the meeting via ms-teams.

The Mayor suggested that a show of hands would be sufficient to indicate if there was any further interest for nomination of Deputy Mayor. No further nominations were received.

The returning officer advised that one nomination for the position of Deputy Mayor had been received and declared Councillor Penny Nicholson elected as Deputy Mayor for the period 16 July 2024 to 14 September 2024.

The Meeting closed at 5:07pm.

The minutes of this meeting were confirmed at the Extraordinary Council Meeting held on 23 July 2024.

CHAIRPERSON

GENERAL MANAGER